10th August 2016

1026_bi

God tests our faith in many different ways, by allowing you to go through hard times in the wilderness in order to know what is in your heart. And today is one of those days.

The story begins…

I was called for an interview in UPM two days ago, but I wasn’t able to go to KL today because I was appointed as invigilator for today’s examination. I was very lucky to have a good boss who immediately approved my emergency leave so that I will be able to attend the interview for my masters studies.

After boarding the train in the morning, UPM called to tell me that I am not qualified to do my Masters in Sports Science because my previous degree is not related to Sports Science. Immediately, my heart sank. I didn’t know what to say and I just said, “Okay, thank you for informing me.” I was already on my way to KL and the interview was sort of cancelled.

“Have faith, Ivy, have faith.”

I nearly broke down, prayed and asked God to open up a way for me. So I called UPM to ask if I could talk to the head of Sports Science Department. The lady, at first, was very reluctant to speak to me but I kept begging her to give me a chance to speak to her boss. And she agreed. As my uncle was fetching me to UPM, I was filled with anxious thoughts and disappointment but still trusting God for the best.

So as I walked into the interview room, there were around 15 interviewers sitting in front of me. I was pretty nervous but I calmed myself down with a prayer. All of them are either Professors, Assoc Profs or Drs. Very nervous. But I answered all of their questions confidently.

Finally one last question from them: What are you working as? You are very confident and knowledgeable.

Me: Academician also.

Them: *applause* Now we know why you are different from the other candidates. We would love to have you as our student. We will discuss with the Senate committee about your case.

Me: Thank you very much! I look forward to hear good news from you!

Remember: If our faith is weak, it may not be obvious when life is going smoothly and we aren’t challenged in any way. But when hard times happen, the true nature of our faith will be revealed. Only through difficult trials come our best blessings from God. Thus, always have faith and have faith. Thank you God for today!

 

Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.
Leave a Reply

