Why are you dying to be perfect?

14801154_1290061987685045_799432667_n

Sometimes, putting thoughts into words would hopefully makes sense on the next day.

Dreams. I day dream a lot. Like, a lot. However, night dreams about falling off stairs is a common thing for me. The word “perfection” would be the culprit behind it. So I was thinking about it.

Well, people say that I deserve all the good things in the world. As I could just thank them shyly for being so lovely with their words, I can’t help but think that hey, I’m not all that they give me credit for. I’m a mess, a bundle of flaws too. It is amazing they see how God works in my life and how lovely, that they see me in a much better light.

But deep inside me, I am so imperfect.

Why are you, why am I trying to be perfect? Why are you, why am I spending time beating myself up for not being good enough? Why are you, why am I not able to give myself a pat on the back when someone compliments? Why are you, why am I comparing myself to better/smarter/more beautiful people than me? Why are you, why am I thinking about issues that are absolutely unnecessary but I do so anyway?

I have to admit that I strive very hard for perfection but again, who is God if I am perfect? God is perfect and I’m just that imperfect. “Perfection” is just a myth.

So here’s to everybody: Stop trying to be perfect. Focus on the whole human package and appreciate the faults. Find the beauty of imperfections and enjoy how you got there. Because the flaws of a person tell a great story, an unique story. Be this beautiful mess, stitched up with good intentions, and inspire others.

 

Sorry, I am not perfect.

3 thoughts on “Why are you dying to be perfect?

  1. You have been through more hell than you’ll ever know, and still, you are smiling to the whole world. Aiyean is the most perfect and strongest woman I know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

